India v Australia: India reclaim Border-Gavaskar Trophy with 2-1 series victory

JK News Today

New Delhi, March 28

Opener Lokesh Rahul hit an unbeaten half-century as India crushed Australia by eight wickets to win the Border-Gavaskar Trophy on the fourth day of the fourth Test at the HPCA Stadium in Dharamsala on Tuesday. India thus won the four-Test series 2-1 to end the home season on an emphatic note.

As expected, Australia came out all guns blazing and ensured that India didn’t have it easy. Murali Vijay (8) was having a tough time in the middle and Pat Cummins ended his misery by having him caught behind by Matthew Wade with a good outswinger with India still 60 runs short of victory.

India’s highest run scorer in this series Cheteshwar Pujara failed to trouble the scorers when he was run out for a duck with a direct hit from Glenn Maxwell. Pujara tapped a Cummins delivery to the covers and went off for a quick single. Rahul responded but hesitated, and for a moment both batsmen were standing in the middle of the crease. Maxwell, the fastest Australian fielder, ran in and in one swift movement picked up the ball to knock the middle stump out of the ground at the non-striker’s end.

Rahul and Ajinkya Rahane then made sure India didn’t have any more hiccups. Rahul scored a solid half-century, his sixth of the series, but it was the whirlwind 38-run knock from the Indian captain that nailed the series.

Cummins came round the wicket to intimidate Rahane to start the 20th over and banged the first ball short. An undeterred Rahane pulled the ball nonchalantly over midwicket for a six. The next ball was pitched short again but wide outside off, and anticipating it brilliantly Rahane gave himself room and smashed the ball over the covers for a six. A gutsy statement was made.

This victory rounded off India’s home season of 13 Tests on a resounding note, and is their fourth in row over Australia at home ( Courtesy Times of India)

after 2008/09 (2-0), 2010/11 (2-0) and 2012/13 (4-0).

Brief scores: India 332 & 106/2 (Rahul 51*, Rahane 38*: Cummins 1/42) beat Australia (300 & 137) by 8 wickets to win series 2-1.

For More News Update Click Here

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *