Jk News Today

Kathua, February 06:

The election to elect the Chairperson and Vice Chairperson for District Development Council Kathua was today held here at Conference Hall of DC Office.

The process of election started with the filing of nomination for Chairperson and Vice Chairperson by all 14 elected members of District Development Council of Kathua District.

Mahan Singh, the elected member from 03- Basohli constituency was declared elected unopposed for the post of Chairperson. Meanwhile Raghunandan Singh; elected member from 07- Kathua constituency was declared elected unopposed by District Election Officer Kathua.

Later, Deputy Commissioner also administered oath of office to the newly elected Chairperson and Vice Chairperson in a brief ceremony.

Speaking on the occasion, District Election Officer Kathua, (DC) Om Prakash congratulated the newly elected office bearers of DDC Kathua. He said with the functioning of three-tier Panchayati Raj system the pace of development in rural areas will now gain a new momentum.

SSP Shailendra Mishra; ADC Atul Gupta; ACR Joginder Paul; DDEO Ashwani Kumar and Elected DDC members were also present.