Territorial Army (TA) also known as the ‘Citizen’s Army’ was raised on 09 Oct 1949 by Shri Rajgopalachari, the first Indian Governor General of India, Since then its size, role and task have increased manifold.

TA is an unique concept wherein any citizen of the country may volunteer to join the TA while continuing with his primary vocation and serve the Army on ‘As Required’ basis. This flexibility has made TA extremely popular among the citizens of the country over a period of time. TA personnel have proven their mettle under trying conditions and have brought glory to the Army.

Former Indian Test captain Kapil Dev was commissioned as an honorary Lieutenant Colonel in Territorial Army on September 24, 2008.On November 1, 2011, Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Abhinav Bindra were awarded the rank of Lt Colonel in the Territorial Army for their respective contributions in the field of cricket and shooting.BCCI President Anurag Thakur, Member of Parliament from Hamirpur Lok Sabha seat was commissioned to the rank of a lieutenant on July 29, 2016 in the Territorial Army.Malayalam cine star Mohanlal was conferred the honorary rank of a Lieutenant Colonel on July 9, 2009. He was the first and only actor to have been conferred with this title.

Large number of Territorial Army resource are deployed in Jammu & Kashmir for supporting the Army in combating insurgency and terrorism in the state. These include the Home and Hearth units which were raised on ‘Sons of Soil’ concept and have 100% personnel from J&K only.

First time in the history of TA, three combat Engr Regt (TA) consisting of locals from J&K have been raised, deployed and Operationalised primarily for Border fencing These units have proved their efficacy by performing their op tasks most efficiently.

The relentless pursuit of Territorial Army in the service of nation has been widely acclaimed by the civil population, civil administration and the defence forces in J&K. On this auspicious day on behalf of every one, The Territorial Army has recd best wishes from Prime Minister, Defence Minister, COAS and various other dignitaries to affirm their faith in the Citizen’s Army.