The AIMIM said it will contest 32 seats in Bihar assembly election later this year. The party has one MLA in the current Bihar Assembly.

Hyderabad, June 10:

Hyderabad MP Asaduddin Owaisi-headed AIMIM is looking to expand its footprints in Bihar during assembly election later this year. The AIMIM has said it will contest 32 seats in the upcoming assembly election in Bihar.

The party will put up candidates across 22 districts of Bihar. The AIMIM currently has one MLA, Kamrul Huda, who won the Kishanganj seat in the by-election, held last year. This is the first major attempt by Asaduddin Owaisi’s party to make inroads in the Hindi heartland. The confidence seems to be flowing from last year’s by-poll victory.

“We have identified 32 constituencies across 22 districts where we will be fighting the assembly election. The Nitish Kumar government has failed on all fronts. It will be suicidal if Nitish Kumar returns to power,” said Akhtar ul Iman, Bihar AIMIM president.

The AIMIM is also hopeful of stitching an alliance with “like-minded parties” to put up a formidable challenge to the ruling NDA in the assembly elections. “We have been in consultation with several like-minded parties to build a strong alliance. We will soon make an announcement in this regard,” said Akhtar ul Iman.

The tenure of 243-member Bihar Assembly ends on November 29. In 2015, the assembly polls were held in October-November.

The seats on which AIMIM has declared to fight elections are Balrampur, Barari and Kadva in Katihar, Amaur and Baisi in Purnia, Jokihat in Araria, Keoti in Darbhanga, Samastipur in Samastipur, Bisfi and Jhanjharpur in Madhubani, Bochaha and Sahebganj Muzaffarpur, Mahoba in Vaishali, Bettiah and Ramnagar in West Champaran, Dhaka and Narkatiaganj in East Champaran, Parihar and Bajopatti in Sitamarhi, Phulwari Sharif in Patna, Raghunathpur and Daraundha in Siwan, Birauli in Gopalganj, Sahebpur Kamal in Begusarai, Kahalgaon in Bhagalpur, Simri Bakhtiyarpur in Saharsa, Shahpur in Ara, Makhdumpur in Jehanabad, Imamganj and Wazirganj in Gaya, Aurangabad in Aurangabad and Chainpur in Kaimur.