JK News Today

Jammu, November 21:

In the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir, the District Development council (DDC) polls along with

pending Panchayat and Local Bodies elections will be held in eight phases beginning 28th Nov. 2020.

These elections would be held through ballot papers and not through Electronic Voting Machines


There are 14 councilors in each of 20 districts in J&K (10 in Kashmir Division and 10 in Jammu Division).

The first phase of polling will be held on 28th Nov. 2020 and the timings of the voting will be from 7 am

to 2 pm.

The constituencies going to polls in first phase are

Jammu Division:

Kishtwar district : two constituencies : Marwah and Warwan

Doda district : two constituencies : Bhallesa and Changa

Ramban district : three constituencies : Khari, Ramsoo-A, Ramsoo-B

Reasi district : two constituencies : Chassana, Chassana-A

Udhampur district : two constituencies : Dudu Basantgarh, Latti Marothi

Kathua district : two constituencies : Bani, Lohai Malhar

Samba district : one constituency : Purmandal

Jammu district : two constituencies : Akhnoor, Maira Mandrian

Rajouri district : one constituency : Budhal New

Poonch district : one constituency : Buffliaz

Ten districts : Total seats : 18

Kashmir Division

Baramulla district : two constituencies : Rafiabad, Tangmarg

Kulgam district : two constituencies : DH Pora, DK Marg

Anantnag district : two constituencies : Larnoo, Pahalgam

Pulwama district : one constituency : Achgooze

Kupwara district : three constituencies : Kalaroos, Kralpora, Tangdar

Budgam district : one constituency : Khansahib.

Bandipore district : three constituencies : Gurez, Tulail, Sumbal

Srinagar district : 7 constituencies : Harwan I,II, III, IV,V,VI, Khonmoh I

Shopian district : two constituencies : Keller I, II

Ganderbal district : two constituencies: Gund A, B

Ten districts 25 constituencies

Total constituencies going to polls in phase I : 43

Panchayat by-elections are being held in 146 blocks in Jammu and 128 blocks in Kashmir division. For

Panch/Sarpanch vacant seats the counting of votes shall be taken up on the day of polls unless it is

notified otherwise.

Number of Vacant Panchayat Halqas in Kashmir Division are 935, while vacant Panch constituencies are


Number of vacant Panchayat Halqas in Jammu Division are 153 while Panch constituencies are 339.

Election expenditure fixed for election as member of DDC is Rs.5,00,000/ for Sarpanch is Rs1,00,000/

while for Panch is Rs.30,000/

Also Watch :- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8_KXjvE6C7s&t=51s