JK News Today

Jammu, August 07:

Born on July 01, 1959, Manoj Sinha, the second Lt. Governor of Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir is a B.Tech, Gold medalist from Indian Institute of Technology of Benaras Hindi University (BHU).

Born in a village named Mohanpura in eastern Uttar Pradesh (Purvanchal) Sinha did his M.Tech too from there and led the students union of BHU.

Manoj Sinha is popularly known as development man of puravanchal UP and started his political career as student leader in 1982. He was first elected to Lok Sabha on a BJP ticket representing Ghazipur constituency in UP and was elected thrice from this constituency.

Sinha played a pivotal role in massive victory of BJP in UP Assembly elections of 2017 and was the frontrunner for the post of Chief Minister then. He was elected to the Lok Sabha for the first time in 1996 and repeated the term in 1999.

He was inducted as a member of the BJP National Council in 1989. He was elected for successive terms in 1996 & 1999 and again in 2014. He was made the Minister of State for the Railways Ministry in the first set of ministers inducted into the government of Narendra Modi in May 2014. In July 2016, during the second cabinet reshuffle, he was also made Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Communications Ministry. He lost 2019 Lok Sabha polls to Afzal Ansari of BSP.

An agriculturalist at heart and a silent performer who consciously maintains a low profile, Sinha has been among the best performing members of Parliament in the 13th Lok Sabha in 1999.

Sinha, a civil engineer and an IIT-BHU alumnus, has set a rare example by utilising his entire MPLAD Fund for the welfare of the people of his constituency.

Manoj Sinha has special recognition as an able administrator who has a strong ability to connect to the people.

Manoj Sinha got  married Neelam Sinha on 8 May 1977. They have a daughter  and a son. He maintains a low-profile image, wears his trademark dhoti and long kurta. He is fondly called Vikas Purush by his followers.

He was appointed as second Lt. Governor of Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir after resignation of first LG, GC Murmu, on first anniversary of abrogation of Article 370 (giving special status to state of Jammu and Kashmir) and its bifurcation into two Union Territories — Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh.