JK News Today

Jammu, November 14

Prominent Hindi writers Dr. Agnishekhar, Mridula Garg and Sudha Arora are among this years’ Mira Smriti  Samman Awardees for their distinguished contribution to contemporary Hindi Literature.

Two other  awadees Prof. Syed  Mohammad Akeel and Prof. Yadunath Prasadh are also nominees for this prestigious award for their contribution to Urdu and Buddhist studies respectively.

The awards would be given by the chief guest of the ceremony Padamshri Shamasur Rahman Farookhi, Dhoodh Nath Singh and Prof. Som Nandyopadhyay noted Hindi  writers at North-Central Cultural Zone Allahabad .


This prestigious Hindi Literary Award has been instituted by Mira Foundation established in 2008 in the memory of Mira Aggrawal who was a source of  great inspiration of ‘Sahitya Bhandar’ Allahabad, the reputed Hindi literary publication House that has published a wide range of important works of aź writers, poets, critics, playwrights, political scientists and historians.

Agnishekhar is author of eight acclaimed books of poetry, fiction and research has rendered meritorious contribution in producing the literature in exile focusing the pangs of forced displacement and genocide of an indigenous- community of Kashmiri Pandits from their ancestral homeland Kashmir in 1990.